Driver Database logo

This site uses cookies. Our cookies are friendly and don't collect personal information but helps to improve the user experience. Read more here. Continued use of this site indicates that you accept this policy. This message will only be shown once.

FIA Super Licence eligibility for 2016

Modifications have been made to the rules regarding the qualification for the Super Licence required to race in Formula 1 for the 2016 season.

In order to qualify for the Super Licence the driver needs to be a holder of a current FIA International Grade A licence, a holder of a valid driving licence and be at least 18 years old at the start of the event of his first F1 race weekend.

The F1 team concerned need to show that the applicant has driven at least 300 km in a representative Formula 1 car consistently at racing speeds during a two day period not more than 180 days prior to the application.

If the driver hasn't made at least five F1 race starts the previous year or at least 15 starts within the previous three years he/she must have accumulated at least 40 points during the three-year period preceding the application.

Below are lists of the eligible drivers for the FIA Super Licence if these rules were in place for the 2015 season.

Eligible drivers based on points 2013-2015

1.Flag Andre LottererGermany1981-11-19140
2.Flag Stoffel VandoorneBelgium1992-03-26105
3.Flag Scott DixonNew Zealand1980-07-22100
4.Flag Benoît TréluyerFrance1976-12-0790
Flag Marcel FässlerSwitzerland1976-05-2790
6.Flag Loïc DuvalFrance1982-06-1279
7.Flag Esteban OconFrance1996-09-1775
8.Flag Felix RosenqvistSweden1991-11-0773
9.Flag Will PowerAustralia1979-03-0170
10.Flag Anthony DavidsonGreat Britain1979-04-1868
Flag Sébastien BuemiSwitzerland1988-10-3168
Flag Helio CastronevesBrazil1975-05-1068
13.Flag Kazuki NakajimaJapan1985-01-1164
14.Flag Oliver RowlandGreat Britain1992-08-1060
15.Flag Alex LynnGreat Britain1993-09-1758
16.Flag Raffaele MarcielloItaly1994-12-1750
Flag Felipe NasrBrazil1992-08-2150
Flag Tom KristensenDenmark1967-07-0750
19.Flag Jolyon PalmerGreat Britain1991-01-2046
20.Flag Alexander RossiU.S.A.1991-09-2543
Flag Antonio GiovinazziItaly1993-12-1443
22.Flag Brendon HartleyNew Zealand1989-11-1042
Flag Mark WebberAustralia1976-08-2742
Flag Sergey SirotkinRussia1995-08-2742
Flag Timo BernhardGermany1981-02-2442
26.Flag Nyck de VriesNetherlands1995-02-0641
27.Flag Neel JaniSwitzerland1983-12-0840
Flag Allan McNishGreat Britain1969-12-2940
Flag Marc LiebGermany1980-07-0440
Flag Juan Pablo MontoyaColombia1975-09-2040
Flag Sam BirdGreat Britain1987-01-0940
Flag Marvin KirchhöferGermany1994-03-1940
Flag Fabio LeimerSwitzerland1989-04-1740
Flag Romain DumasFrance1977-12-1440

Eligible drivers based on at least 15 Formula 1 race starts 2013-2015

1.Flag Daniel RicciardoAustralia1989-07-01101
Flag Lewis HamiltonGreat Britain1985-01-07101
3.Flag Sebastian VettelGermany1987-07-03100
Flag Valtteri BottasFinland1989-08-28100
Flag Romain GrosjeanFrance1986-04-17100
6.Flag Nico HülkenbergGermany1987-08-1999
Flag Sergio PérezMexico1990-01-2699
8.Flag Kimi RäikkönenFinland1979-10-1798
9.Flag Felipe MassaBrazil1981-04-2597
Flag Fernando AlonsoSpain1981-07-2997
11.Flag Marcus EricssonSweden1990-09-0279
12.Flag Nico RosbergGermany1985-06-2778
Flag Jenson ButtonGreat Britain1980-01-1978
14.Flag Daniil KvyatRussia1994-04-2672
15.Flag Carlos Sainz Jr.Spain1994-09-0163
Flag Max VerstappenNetherlands1997-09-3063
Flag Kevin MagnussenDenmark1992-10-0563
18.Flag Esteban GutiérrezMexico1991-08-0559
19.Flag Pastor MaldonadoVenezuela1985-03-0956
20.Flag Pascal WehrleinGermany1994-10-1839
Flag Felipe NasrBrazil1992-08-2139
22.Flag Jean-Eric VergneFrance1990-04-2538
Flag Adrian SutilGermany1983-01-1138
24.Flag Max ChiltonGreat Britain1991-04-2135
Flag Jolyon PalmerGreat Britain1991-01-2035
26.Flag Jules BianchiFrance1989-08-0334
27.Flag Esteban OconFrance1996-09-1732
28.Flag Lance StrollCanada1998-10-2923
Flag Stoffel VandoorneBelgium1992-03-2623
30.Flag Paul Di RestaGreat Britain1986-04-1620
31.Flag Giedo van der GardeNetherlands1985-04-2519
Flag Mark WebberAustralia1976-08-2719
Flag Charles PicFrance1990-02-1519
34.Flag Will StevensGreat Britain1991-06-2818
35.Flag Kamui KobayashiJapan1986-09-1315

Eligible drivers based on at least 5 Formula 1 race starts in 2015

1.Flag Daniel RicciardoAustralia1989-07-0119
Flag Lewis HamiltonGreat Britain1985-01-0719
Flag Nico RosbergGermany1985-06-2719
Flag Marcus EricssonSweden1990-09-0219
Flag Romain GrosjeanFrance1986-04-1719
Flag Pastor MaldonadoVenezuela1985-03-0919
Flag Carlos Sainz Jr.Spain1994-09-0119
Flag Max VerstappenNetherlands1997-09-3019
Flag Sergio PérezMexico1990-01-2619
Flag Sebastian VettelGermany1987-07-0319
Flag Kimi RäikkönenFinland1979-10-1719
Flag Felipe MassaBrazil1981-04-2519
13.Flag Valtteri BottasFinland1989-08-2818
Flag Daniil KvyatRussia1994-04-2618
Flag Felipe NasrBrazil1992-08-2118
Flag Nico HülkenbergGermany1987-08-1918
Flag Jenson ButtonGreat Britain1980-01-1918
Flag Fernando AlonsoSpain1981-07-2918
19.Flag Will StevensGreat Britain1991-06-2817
20.Flag Roberto MerhiSpain1991-03-2213
21.Flag Alexander RossiU.S.A.1991-09-255

Table of points of the Championships for eligibility

Future F2 Championship4040403020108643
GP2 Series404030201086432
FIA F3 European Championship40302010864321
FIA WEC LMP140302010864321
IndyCar Series40302010864321
Formula Renault 3.5352520151075321
GP3 Series30201510753210
Super Formula25201510753210
FIA WTCC1512107532100
Indy Lights1512107532100
Formula 4 ADAC121075321000
Formula 4 Australia121075321000
Formula 4 China121075321000
Formula 4 Japan121075321000
Formula 4 Italy121075321000
Formula 4 Nacam121075321000
Formula 4 SMP121075321000
Formula 4 Spain121075321000
Formula 4 South East Asia121075321000
Formula 4 UAE121075321000
Formula 4 USA121075321000
MSA Formula121075321000
Formula 3 Australia10753100000
Formula 3 Brazil10753100000
Formula 3 Japan10753100000
Formula Renault 2.0 Eurocup5310000000
Formula Renault 2.0 ALPS5310000000
Formula Renault 2.0 NEC5310000000
© DriverDB AB